Happy Wednesday

In our house we have what we call “Happy Wednesday” each fortnight.  We only have 50% custody of my son so each Wednesday is a change over day for us.  Our son (8) is so used to this arrangement it really just seems normal most of the time.  We never have to argue with his Dad about long weekends etc as it is all negated by change over on a Wednesday.

In our house, the person who notices it all the most is our daughter (3 1/2). At the start of the weeks without him she proudly tells us that she does not need to share the TV or her toys however by the Monday she is begging us to go and picking him up, quite often this is in tears.  I hate to see her like this, but I know that there is nothing I can do.

Even with all this, I consider our family very lucky. My son has a Dad who loves him to pieces and cherishes every minute he gets with him.  I have heard of many split families not that lucky. My son gets 2 x Christmas, Birthday, Easter. He gets to be an only child and cherish all the one on one time while he is with his Dad, then he comes to our place and he gets to have an adouring little sister, an awesome step Dad and a puppy to chase around.  Our daughter, while she doesn’t get the 2 lots of celebrations, still get the 50% of dedicated attention and then gets to idolise her big brother.

To top this whole thing off, we have one of those rare households where (I know this may change) both our kids love each other and love spending time being silly and laughing together. Both would be anything to help the other.  Don’t get me wrong, they still have arguments but I have heard of household where siblings just don’t like each other.

How does all of this make me and my husband lucky? We have the two of best kids (and dog) in the world. They are by no means perfect but they are always awesome. They know how to laugh, how to be silly, how to love and how to have fun.

Each and every “Happy Wednesday” I am reminded of just how lucky we are.

 

Home Love Life Laughter

 

Hoping your Wednesday is as happy as ours.

Netty

Leave a Reply

